The Jake…

I’ve talked before about my oldest son, Jake, and how we lost him in 2001 to leukemia. Jenny and I honor him, personally, by doing certain things on his birthday, July 4, and his Angel Day, August 23. 

Jake in San Antonio, Feb 2001

Around this time every year, as his Angel Day approaches, it gets a little harder to push back at the melancholy. Instead of moping and getting all depressed, I would like to turn it into something positive, celebrate Jake’s life and to let people know the awesomeness that is Jake.

One thing that has bounced around in my head the last couple of years is having a 5k or 10k in his honor and use it as a fundraiser for a cancer charity. I would call it “Jake’s 5k/10k” with the tag line, “Run The Jake.”

I know nothing about what is involved in hosting a race but I really like the idea. It is one of those, “Someday…” ideas that I would like to make a reality.

Someday…

8 responses to “The Jake…

  • Melissa

    I would like to help you organize something, even if just an online campaigne. I have several connections with the blogging world and think we could pull something together. Let me know, this is a sincere offer of support from one parent to another to has lost a child.

  • James Whatley

    Hey man,

    I shared your story on Google Reader.
    (I think that’s where Melissa came from?)

    And I also threw it out onto Twitter:

    And I just got this one back

    Worth investigating?
    Sounds like a great idea – and if you’re serious, I’d happily assist in setting up/raising awareness etc…

  • Steve

    Melissa,
    First, I am deeply sorry to hear of your loss. I wish it was different, for both of us.

    Thank you very much for your offer. It is very kind and I might just take you up on it. It would be so awesome if this little dream of mine actually came true!

    Thank you for visiting.

  • Steve

    Thank you for sharing, James. That is too cool.

    It’s funny, I just threw this post up as a musing for today and it looks like it might turn into something. Definately worth investigating. I am interested to see where this goes. Thanks for your offer to spread the word.

  • Alisha

    Count me in – I’d love to help you with it ! =)

  • Steve

    Alisha,
    Thank for your offer and for visiting. I am going to have to start thinking about this in earnest – see what can be done and arranged by next summer. Thanks, again, and I will let you know.

    Steve

  • God said, “Chill”… « Escape From Career Hell

    […] Comments Steve on Running Freak…Karen Swim on Running Freak…Steve on The Jake…Alisha on The Jake…Steve on New […]

  • Rosalyn

    Thank you for commenting on my blog. I’ve been reading yours and was drawn to this post. So moving… thank you…

    What a wonderful idea, the run.

    In the UK we have a ‘Race for Life’ a 5K ‘fun run’ which happens across the country in different locations as a cancer fundraiser. And many people’s first race that gets them into running…

    Go for it!

    Rosalyn

Leave a Reply

