Character Flaws…

I don’t watch much TV, more due to lack of time than lack of interest though there is some ambivalence there. There are two shows, though, that have me hooked, Mad Men and Californication. I’m beginning to think I am drawn to characters with flaws.

Jon Hamm

Don Draper (pic from AMC.com)

Don Draper is uber-cool but drinks too much, cheats on his wife and then there is that whole took-the-identity-of-his-dead-commanding-officer thing. But I still think he’s just cool (the metro/girl in me likes his clothes, too).

HANK MOODY

Hank Moody (pic from Showtime.com)

Then there is Hank Moody from Californication who is even more F-ed up than Don Draper. He, too, drinks too much and cheats on his baby-momma but I find him to be cool, too, in a self-hating writer sort of way.

I have assured my wife many times that it’s not because I want to start running around and sleeping with other women. Maybe it’s because they’re both creative and I envy that quality in them.

I don’t know. Weird. Just thought I would share.

Leave a Reply

