My Running Dream…

Every Thursday, Runner’s Lounge has a feature called, Take It and Run Thursday.   In their words,

It’s our way to bring together the knowledge of all of us ordinary runners.  It’s the virtual equivalent to putting our virtual heads together.  Even though many of us aren’t elite athletes, coaches or authors, it doesn’t mean that we haven’t earned a well deserved PhD in running.   Whether you are starting out, have 50 years of running under your belt or somewhere in between – all of us have lessons learned that make us wiser and better runners.  

This week’s theme is Make a Wish, Share Your Dream. That’s an easy one. I want to start up some sort of race in Jake’s honor. It has been a topic before here, the last time was on August 7, 2008 and I have included the entire post below:

 The Jake…

I’ve talked before about my oldest son, Jake, and how we lost him in 2001 to leukemia. Jenny and I honor him, personally, by doing certain things on his birthday, July 4, and his Angel Day, August 23. 

Jake in San Antonio, Feb 2001

Around this time every year, as his Angel Day approaches, it gets a little harder to push back at the melancholy. Instead of moping and getting all depressed, I would like to turn it into something positive, celebrate Jake’s life and to let people know the awesomeness that is Jake.

One thing that has bounced around in my head the last couple of years is having a 5k or 10k in his honor and use it as a fundraiser for a cancer charity. I would call it “Jake’s 5k/10k” with the tag line, “Run The Jake.”

I know nothing about what is involved in hosting a race but I really like the idea. It is one of those, “Someday…” ideas that I would like to make a reality.

Someday…

 So, there it is. My dream for Take It and Run Thursday.

13 responses to “My Running Dream…

  • Betsy

    I think that would be a beautiful way to honor your son.

  • Lacey

    i think a race is a great idea that would really grow over the years. best of luck and my warm wishes go out to you.

  • Joy

    That is a wonderful thing to do for your son. Best of luck in making that a reality soon.

    • Steve

      Thanks, Joy, Marci, Erik and Claire. This topic keeps coming up every so often so I think I am destined to make it real. There is a running club in town and some other sources, charities, etc. Time to quit talking and start doing!

      Thanks, again, for your encouragement and kind words.

  • Marci

    What a beautiful dream. I really hope your dream becomes a reality!

  • Erik

    What a great idea!! Get with a local running shop and pitch your idea. You never know!

    E

  • Claire

    I think that’s a really great idea 🙂 You should get in touch with your local cancer charities etc and see if you can set up an event 🙂

    Jake looks awesome indeed 🙂

  • RunningLaur

    Such a wonderful idea.
    I’d grab any volunteer at a local charity race – ask to see the person in charge, and fire away with questions! I’m sure there will be plenty of support in this wonderful running community!
    Best of luck!

  • Claire

    I think you need to doodle something for a t-shirt and start wearing it at your races and training 🙂

    • Steve

      That’s nice of you to say! I’ve actually designed two shirts for relays I have run in this year. Hmmm. Might have a little think about the future possibilities, though. 🙂

  • Mat

    I can so relate to your difficulty making you’re someday ideas an actionable “x”day realities. I was reading something for myself, but I realized that it is applicable to you and “The Jake”, so I thought I would share it; http://zenhabits.net/2008/12/11-ways-to-cure-someday-syndrome/ maybe it is the initial planning steps you need. You name the time and the place, and you know I will be there. I will offer my help and assistance in anyway you see fit. Great ideas can be brilliant events, turn this idea into an event you and your family can treasure.

  • Mat

    I can so relate to your difficulty making you’re someday ideas an actionable “x”day realities. I was reading something for myself, but I realized that it is applicable to you and “The Jake”, so I thought I would share it; http://zenhabits.net/2008/12/11-ways-to-cure-someday-syndrome/ maybe it is the initial planning steps you need. You name the time and the place, and you know I will be there. I will offer my help and assistance in anyway you see fit. Great ideas can be brilliant events, turn this idea into an event you and your family will treasure.

Leave a Reply

