The Shoes Run a Marathon…

and were kind enough to take me along for the ride.

We ran the Philadelphia Marathon on Sunday, November 23, 2008. Their first and my ninth. Now that my legs are less sore, I can say that all in all, it was a good time. Philadelphia does a nice job organizing a race. The temperature at start time was right around 30 degrees and didn’t get too much warmer by finish. By far the coldest marathon I’ve run.

The start was very easy to find, right by the Museum of Art on the Ben Franklin Parkway. Bag check was a breeze. They had a bunch of school buses lined up on either side of a park path, each manned with two or three volunteers. My only real complaint about the start was a lack of port o’johns. I got in line at 6:30 and got back out at 6:40 after the line failed to move more than a couple feet. I, and a bunch of other guys, ending up waiting to go until we got to the expressway bridge at mile two.

The crowd was awesome. People lined the city streets and cheered us on, many with their hands out to give a high five. That part is always fun, especially when it is kids. I also like looking for family members who show up throughout the course to cheer on a runner. This year, it was Karianne’s family. I saw them probably at five or six different locations. Very cool.

You can also almost always be guaranteed an irate driver at a blocked intersection. This time, it was a gentleman by Drexel University. I don’t know what he was screaming but he was not happy. The police officer standing post just smiled.

My shoes' first marathon

My shoes, marathon finishers

The shirt we received was cool, too. It had a course map on the back so every so often I would look at someone in front of me to figure out where we were on the course. Very helpful.

We finished right back by the start line. The food tent had soft preztels and hot soup. Awesome. The medal is pretty cool, too.

If you are so inclined, I highly recommend running Philadelphia. It is run almost as well as the Marine Corps but with a lot less people.

5 responses to “The Shoes Run a Marathon…

  • cyberpenguin

    Congrats! Sounds like you had a great race! Whoever thought to put the race course on the back of Philly Marathon T-shirt was a genius! 😉

    Coincidentally enough, we probably just missed each other in Philly by just one day; I was Philly the Wed-Friday right before race weekend. The marathon banners were all over town!

    After reading your description, I realize now that during Thursday’s run I’d actually run a very tiny part of the marathon course! COOL! (I ran along the Ben Franklin Parkway & past the Phila. Museum of Art as well, but went in the other direction, i.e., along the towpath by the river, doing a total of 7.6 miles.) It was pretty chilly then too, with only a handful of runners out & about. I bet some of them were probably at the marathon with you that weekend! 😉

    Maybe next time, I’ll join you & run the whole thing! 😉

  • Steve

    Yep, we did just miss each other. I got there on Saturday evening.

    We actually ran the route you ran, but on the road instead of the path, on the second half. We followed that way up to Manayunk for the turn around at mile 20.

    I think Philly would be a great first marathon. The course is nice and flat and it is just a good race. Would be very cool.

  • cyberpenguin

    Oh, so you went past the rowing clubs & Falls Bridge?! Cool! Didn’t know the second half of the marathon course went all the way to Manayunk. That’s a very scenic part of town & a nice area for running too!

    Sounds like a great marathon to do! So do you think you’ll run it again next year?

  • Steve

    It was very pretty. The crowd at Manayunk was great, too. One lady was actually handing out brownies. I would have taken one but my stomach was not up for it by that point. The Hashers were handing out beer there, too. Again, the stomach advised me against it.

    I would definately like to run Philly again but probably not next year. I have found my motivation dwindles quickly if I run the same stuff to close together, so I try to do something different every year. Not sure what I will do next year. The way I plan, it will prolly be August before I decide. 🙂

  • Passing the Baton… « But I’m Not Addicted…

    […] 25, 2010 · Leave a Comment After the Philadelphia marathon, the Maryland half marathon, the Annapolis 10-mile and countless training miles in the heat, rain […]

Leave a Reply

