Ads…

I keep going back and forth on whether or not to have ads. I had them at first, but nothing ever came of them and I thought they cluttered up the page, so they were removed.

Then, I read Colin Devroe’s blog post about his experiment with ads. His goal was to be able to use the proceeds to buy lunch at Panera. He seemed to have some success so I brought the ads back. My goal was a little more humble, I’d take being able to treat myself to a latte once a week.

Now I will be the first to admit that I don’t totally understand how the ads work. I figure someone clicks on an ad, money for me. I also included a Google search widget. Mr. Devroe talked about having on his and how it, too, can provide income. So, I played around with the settings and experiment and see what happens.

I’m not sure if my readership is too low or what exactly, but nothing is happening so the ads are gone again. I still think they are pretty much clutter and if they are not providing a useful function, then why have them. I’m sure there are knowledgable people out there that can provide strategies to bring in money but my blog is not that type of blog. It was an interesting exercise but it is over.

Do you have ads? Do they work?

2 responses to “Ads…

  • Rex Hammock

    I have no problem with bloggers placing ads on their blogs, however, here’s what I’ve said on the topic in the past: My blog doesn’t carry ads — my blog IS an ad.

  • Steve

    Rex, thanks for your comment. I don’t have a problem with others carrying ads, but being a neat freak, I just didn’t like the look they gave my blog. Plus, they weren’t serving their intended purpose. If others use them with success, great! My experiment is over, though. I will go your route and use my blog as my ad for me.

Leave a Reply

