Do Unto Others…

“You do not lead by hitting people over the head – that’s assault, not leadership.” – Dwight D. Eisenhower

In response to something that happened at work, I posted about listening and good leadership. Before I started this blog, I would write things down just get thoughts out of my head. One day I started a list on what I thought encompassed good leadership, based on what I have seen and experienced over the years. None of this new or ground-breaking. Just my little twist on things.

Leadership Principle #2: Do Unto Others
This is so simple. Treat other people like how you want to be treated. Respect returns respect. You get farther by treating people in a civil manner. Yelling and rudeness only angers people and causes them to shutdown and stop listening.
It is much better to use mutual respect to have people want to do things than using fear and intimidation. I experienced this as an enlisted Marine working for an Air Force Captain. Our team really responded to him because he made sure we knew we were all part of a team. We succeeded and failed together. I lived that belief after being commissioned a Navy Officer with the same outcome as Capt. Kiser.
I, and others are less inclined to help out the jerks of the world. A book by Robert I. Sutton, The No Asshole Rule, reinforces this belief for me. If you haven’t read it, you should. It’s a great book. It not only tells you how to deal with the assholes of the world but also tells you if you are one and how to stop.

Leave a Reply

