The Wonderful Web 2.0…

I visited Seth Grodin’s blog for the first time today. As I read through his posts, I happened upon one talking about a shortage of digital coaches. At the bottom of the post was a link that led to a digital coach lens on Squidoo. I didn’t pay too much attention to the actual page the link took me to. Instead I started browsing through some of the various Squidoo “lenes” as he calls them. It was mixture of marketplace, marketing tool and blog all wrapped together. It was amazing. I immediately created two lenses, one on running and one on Westminster Coffee Shops. The later is not published, yet. I am still working on it. I followed another to bookmark my page on Del.ico.us (I had to create an account, first).

I am starting to understand what Hugh MacLeod and Seth Godin are talking about. The old way of marketing things is giving way to this Web 2.0. I got to think about it. Anyone opening a new business of any kind can create a whole marketing plan for free just by doing what I did above. Squidoo can be a starting spot, since it looks to be oriented to give people a place to share their expertise or products. From there, they bookmark it on the many different social bookmarking sites. Their blog can point people to the Squidoo lens and also be added to social bookmarking sites. It is all too incredible. It is the new word-of-mouth.

I should thank my customer. Out of sheer boredom, I started reading blogs. That led me to create my own. From there, I have created a lens and bookmarked it on a social bookmarking site. At the tender age of 40, I have joined the internet generation. The wonderful web 2.0…

Leave a Reply

